1st Bronco...need Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ColdCut

Reaction score
Hi everyone...I just bought an '85 Bronco Full Size w/ 300 V6 and 100,000 miles on it . When i put it in 3rd gear it acts like it wants to cut out and starts sputterin...any suggestions as to what my problem might be. I'm brand new to the big rig bussiness, just sold my 98 Kia Sephia because I'm tired of crappy little foreign cars.

Needs new spark plugs and new air filter bad...also 1.5" hose from bottom of air filter housing to engine is not connected to air filter housing, would any of the above stuff be reason for sputtering and cutting out when in 3rd gear?

Another thing is that it is 4wd and it has a the shifter for it starts at 2hi at the top then 4hi, N, 4low at the bottom...im going to use it as a daily driver

so shoud i keep it in N...also it shifts freely from top to bottom so i never really know if im in 2hi, 4hi etc., do you have to move the shifter to right to get it into gear...sorry i sound so dumb but i have never owned a 4wd before. Thanks :D /emoticons/[email protected] 2x" width="20" height="20" />

Last edited by a moderator:
G

Gunner

i had the same problem with my 1982 5.0 V8 i got to 45 miles an hour and the engine was begging for fuel. i started sputtering and everything. i took everything apart to see what the **** the problem was. and in the end all i needed to do was change out the three fuel filters that are on there and put one bigger one and i have all my power back. not saying it will fix yours but it did the job for me.

Jes4Kix

Reaction score
I had a similar problem on a different truck, turned out to be a vacuum line.