Wheel/tire/lift combo

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

POTTER

Reaction score
I plan on doing a 3-4 inch lift on my 96 Bronco (4X4). First off, what kind of price difference will I find between 3 and 4 inches?

next, I want to do 35 inch tires on the stock Ford rims (I have the bullet-hole style, aluminum rims), what is the biggest size (width, height, backspace) I can fit with a 3 and a 4 inch lift...

Thanks for the help guys..I am a Lift newbie, my trucks have all been street/sport trucks up until now...

wileec

Reaction score
The stock rims are only 7.5 inches wide the biggest I would go is 11.5 wide for the tires and that would be pushing it.

Since I am not sure I have seen a 3" for a bronco I do not know if it would be cheaper. IMO get the lift that fits your needs, if you are going to wheel hard spend the extra $$$ and get the extended radius arms and the replacement leaf pack. If you just want to be big/tall cheaper would be fine. This is part of the reason I run stock, I can not afford the right kind of lift. I also like showing just how capable a "stock" Bronco is.

michibronc

Reaction score
Although I don't have a lift yet, nearly everyone I've spoken with or read from on here has said go with a 4 inch minimum. Folks who go for the 2.5 or 3 inchers spend the same amount of money and can't fit 35's and still off road hard without making contact at times.

The 2.5 and 3 inch kits contain all the same parts and generally cost the same as the 4 inch kits.

Bronco Graveyard sells a pretty huge variety of lifts and they also sell regular, deluxe, and ultra deluxe levels of each lift. The deluxe and ultra deluxe get you things like new radius arms, longer brake lines, new leafs or add a leafs instead of blocks, etc. If you haven't dealt with them yet, they're excellent and very knowledgeable.