I'm no mechanic...what next?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DunnellonDave

Reaction score
Hey guys! Just got my 70 out of the shop. Had a new lift and power steering installed. On the way home it missed really bad then ran fine. Now when I drive it, maybe 10 minutes into a drive it starts missing and bucking and all kinda bad stuff. I'm trying to gigure out if its a fuel problem or a spark problem. It can start running bad, usually while going along and then taking my foot out of it. I have a clear filter going into the carb and it seems like it has alot of bubbles and not much fuel in it so the first thing I did was replace the fuel filter coming out of the gas tank. No luck. Here are a few of my questions. Being the carb filter doesnt hold much fuel, could it be the fuel pump taking a crap? I mean, I would think a mechanical pump would work or not? Maybe the coil crapping out? I am getting ready to install a new high spark coil anyways, hopefully one that doesnt need that little resistor thingy that smoke when the key is left on. Or maybe the carb has trash in it? I guess, where to start now? Anyone still run the old Jacobs coils? I understand Accel manufactures them now? I sold my Bronco to a buddy 10 years back and just recently got it back. He had the motor rebuilt and unhooked the jacobs coils I had (it might have gone bad) and put a regular coil with one of them resistors on it and I am looking to get that out of there. Any recomendations? Thanks!

IMAG0787.jpg

Bully Bob

TOP GUN
Reaction score
Hi Dave..,

"I have a clear filter going into the carb and it seems like it has alot of bubbles and not much fuel in it"

This is one of the big mysteries of automotion/life..! ;) /emoticons/[email protected] 2x" width="20" height="20" />