'89 Bronco Project - F-150 19 gal fuel tank and sender?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

codycarpenter

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new to the forums and I just picked up my winter project this week, a 1989 5.0 Bronco w/ 4" lift, 35" Buckshots, a busted water pump bolt, and an unfinished fuel tank project by the PO.

I'm having trouble because the previous owner planned to put in an F-150 19 gallon fuel tank with a corresponding sending unit. Well I'm new to Bronco's and the Hayne's manual hasn't been too much help, so I need to know if this is even possible. The F-150 sending unit uses a four pin connector and the Bronco uses a three pin, I have the connector as a pigtail from the F-150. Is it possible to use this connector and sending unit with an '89 Bronco?

I thought I read that the Bronco had an external fuel pump and the F-150 had an in-tank pump, which is what I think the piece in the bag is in the picture of the SU. I'm really flustered with this right now and I'm wondering if I'm better off getting a plastic 33gal and new sending unit from MTS. I'll put up pictures of the connector from the F-150 and the sending unit.

Any help anyone can provide will be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Cody

IMG_0067.JPG

IMG_0068.JPG

BroncoJoe19

Reaction score
In 1990 the full size bronco went to a single in-tank pump, prior to that they had a low pressure pump in the tank and a high pressure one on the driver's frame rail.

I assume that the final pressure would be the same and that there shouldn't be an issue in swapping the new one in, But I do not know for sure and would want to check that.

Also there is a pressure regulator, I would want to make sure the specs are the same for it.

OP
OP
C

codycarpenter

Reaction score