3G alternator question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ken Dixon

Reaction score
I'm new here and would like to say hi, I have a 1974 Bronco that I have been working on for a couple years.

I recently installed a 3G alternator which was configured for just one wire hookup. Well all went ok and it works and charges as it should. The problem is I thought I shouldn't need the old regulator so I took it and the associated wires out, then I had no electric anything. So I looked and the problem was a small black wire which has a fuseable link then it splits into a large black wire which runs to a connector and a small yellow wire which goes to the old regulator. What do I need to do to clean up my wiring and remove the old regulator?

Thanks Ken

Seabronc

Reaction score
A picture if the wiring would be great.   You were right, you do not need the old regulator, it is on the alternator.  any wores that went to the old regulator are no longer needed and you can eliminate it.  The black one sound like it goes to wherever power is distributed, it probably use to connect through the fuseable link to the starter solenoid, (battery side).  If that is where the end of the fuseable link goes and it is bad, you need to replace the link or install a fuse in it's place.  The fuseable link is there to prevent overloads that could cause an electrical fire, unfortunately they have been known to burn up and cause an electrical fire.  Have you added to the electrical load?  Did you install a Mega fuse?

Basically the old wire ti the battery is removed and replaced with a #2 cable to a Mega fuse then from the fuse one #2 to the battery and a #2 to the starter solinoid, if there is a power distribution fusebox under the hood there would also be a #2 going to it.

Attached is a typical installation diagram and a picture of a typical installation.