Engine swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

New2bronco

Reaction score
I bought a 1991 bronco with a 4.9L engine. It is an XLT 4x4. I want more power and was thinking of swapping engines, what types of engines can I put in? I'm kind of new to the whole game but want to learn. Any help would be appreciated

Seabronc

Reaction score
The 4.9 is a great engine.  Stock 5.0W, 5.8W with minimal work, just engine mounts.  After that you can put in anything you can stuff in there with modifications.  It all depends on what you want to do with the truck.  A little more information on what you are thinking about would help.

:)>-

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
N

New2bronco

Reaction score
I am just looking for more power, not neccesarily for racing but just for personal satisfaction. So then what type of engines would that be? I was doing some research and saw there was a 351w, is this what you are talking about?

miesk5

96 Bronco 5.0
Staff member
Reaction score
Yo New2bronco,

Welcome!

For a ba**s to the wall swap, depending on transmission type and/or Emissions laws on carburetor swap:

Engine Conversion Kits for Bronco & Ford Trucks (sales catalog w/pics & descriptions) @ http://www.landlproducts.com/catalog.pdf

Examples:

1980-96 TRUCKS AND BRONCOS 2WD AND 4WD

EQUIPPED WITH 6-CYLINDER ENGINES AND C-6

AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION CONVERTING TO

429/460 ENGINES.

BASIC KIT INCLUDES:

PART NO. DESCRIPTION

040425 RUBBER MOUNTS WITH STANDS SET 429/460 ENGINE

040500 7-QT. BAFFLED OIL PAN KIT REAR SUMP

10156B ALTERNATOR MOUNT AND DRIVE KIT

10145C POWER STEERING MOUNT AND DRIVE KIT C-II PUMP

79760A 429/460 ULTRA FLOWTM HEADER STD. HEAD CHASSIS EXIT

040183 90 DEGREE REMOTE OIL FILTER SYSTEM

260561 SUPER COOLING RADIATOR (1980-83 VEHICLES)

OR SADDLE MOUNT

260562 SUPER COOLING RADIATOR (1984-96 VEHICLES)