Need Help With 87 Bronco

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Vincentzzzz

Reaction score
I need help. I'm new to cars and just got a 1987 Bronco that needs lots of work. First there are wires that aren't connected to any thing coming from the throttle body. Then there are what seems to be hose connectors connected to nothing. Finally (for now) the distributor is really loose. I have pics of what I'm talking about hope someone can help.

Wires.jpg

Hoses.jpg

Distributor.jpg

Seabronc

Reaction score
Welcome to the Zone !!

I assume that this is a 351W engine, please put the truck specifics in your signature as that will help in getting more accurate responses to questions.

The unconnected wire on the carburetor is for the choke,  if this is the original carburetor, it is connected to a special 7 volt output on the alternator.   If this is a newer carb it is connected to a switched 12 volt source.  Also that zip tie doesn't belong there, probably added to hold the choke open.

The device with no vacuum lines on it is a vacuum control valve. This one in particular is for controlling the heat riser function for improved start and run conditions, especially in cold weather.

Not sure what you mean  by your distributor being loose, or what you are trying to show in the picture.  Do you mean that the rotor is loose or the entire distributor.  

:)>-

Last edited by a moderator:

Seabronc

Reaction score
Some after thought:

Is that the original engine in the 87 Bronco?

The reason I ask is, that is a 2BBL carb and the 87's came with a 4BBL carb on a 351W engine or EFI on a 302 engine.

:)>-

Last edited by a moderator:

miesk5

96 Bronco 5.0
Staff member
Reaction score
Yo,

As Fred advised.

Some info:

Hopefully this site will help you with your,Carburetor Identification and Location of Engineering Numbers;