cold start

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Shrek_95

Reaction score
I have a 95 5.8l automatic when I start the engine it goes to about 1300rpm then drops to 1000rpm which is normal for warm up then it will drop to 500rpm +/- 100rpm for about 2 min then it will jump back up to 100rpm then to 800 rpm and runs fine after that. I changed the iacv and shot the tps which reads perfect voltage. The gas pedal responds perfect I ran codes and it is coming back with 111 koeo and koer. I can't find any vacuum leaks. And my truck runs rich enough to smell it while driving. Checked spark plus they look new I haven't sprayed any carb cleaner around the intake yet any input would be greatly appreciated.

I'm new to the bronco community and to the 5.8l

Rons beast

Reaction score
Florida..in my mind , sitting on the beach
Hey Shrek,  Welcome.

Code 111 is a system pass, or no problems detected.

You may want to do the test for vacuum leaks, but I suspect a temp sensor issue. 

On these type of problems you could search for some physical cause, (like a vac leak), but the real culprit is a sensor with odd readings , or a reactive unit that is a bit slow...or fast.  With the 111 code the comp is telling you that it can find nothing that feeds inputs outside the normal range, and all reactive processes are reading active.

The one thing that interests me is that you say the truck runs rich.  If it is the comp would definitely pick up on that.  UNLESS...this is happening only when the truck is cold and in the open loop running mode. 

Open loop is when the engine is running on preprogramed perimeters, and not through the inputs from the system sensors.  This happens when the engine is started cold, or a limp condition.