Engine OIL

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RSMIKE

Reaction score
Hi I'm new in to the Bronco scene

I life in Europe but to find information about Broncos is not really easy here

My Question is what Oil you run in your Engine ????

I has a 94 351W and i would doing a 10W40 half synthetic oil in it is that right or a full synthetic 5W40

Thanks for any help

Best Regards

Mike

miesk5

96 Bronco 5.0
Staff member
Reaction score
yo Mike!

I use 5W-30

Ford recommended 5W-30 though as shown in this;

Oil, SAE Viscosity Recommendation TSB 98-8-16 by Ford for 89-96

APRIL 26, 1999

ISSUE: Ford Motor Company now recommends SAE 5W-30 viscosity grade forservicing any Ford gasoline-powered vehicle regardless of model year.

ACTION: When servicing any Ford gasoline-powered vehicle, use SAE 5W-30 viscosity grade motor oil. Refer to the following text for further details.

Both SAE 10W-30 and SAE 5W-30 viscosity grade motor oils have been recommended in the past depending on vehicle model and model year.

Tests have proven SAE 5W-30 viscosity grade motor oil provides the optimum protection and benefits for Ford gasoline engines. At both high and low ambient temperature conditions, SAE 5W-30 provides the best overall protection. It allows faster starts under cold ambient temperatures.

SAE 5W-30 also provides approximately 1/2% increase in fuel economy over SAE 10W-30.

SAE 5W-30 viscosity grade motor oils certified for gasoline engines by the American Petroleum Institute (API) should be used for all service procedures requiring replacement of the motor oil.

OTHER APPLICABLE ARTICLES: NONE

WARRANTY STATUS: INFORMATION ONLY

OASIS CODES: 401000, 490000, 499000

Then changed it ti 5W-20 in this later TSB

Oil, Application TSB 02-1-9 for 93-96 Source: by Ford via thedieselstop.com

AdamDude04

Reaction score
I personally use Penzoil 10W40