numbers?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ladybronco

Reaction score
like i have said before ive worked on lots of cars but never a truck and never a rear end or anything i have numbers like crazy and have no idea what the mean or what they are for ! for example on my rear end i have several sets of numbers:s814p 5 5 88 8f21 is a on a tag and then in a different spot it has e7tw-4025-ba and then also the numbers 8138??? then on my transfer case there is a big sticker with 7pa and a tag with the numbers f068 3 1356-17 113493 e7ta-pa?? [-o< id just like to know what rear end i have if its a dana 44 or what my gear ratio means to me like i said im new to this so any info would be nice!

Justshootme84

Rest in Peace Friend! Never forgotten..
Reaction score
Welcome to Bronco Zone!!! On the rear axle tag, the second line, "55 8 8..." means you have a Ford 8.8" axle with a 3.55:1 gear ratio. (the 3 is covered by the bolt holding the tag to the rear cover). This is an "open" differential, meaning it is not factory-equipped with a limited slip or Trac=Lok. An "L" would show before the "55" if it were. The other numbers are "Bill of Material" numbers, which are used mainly for when you order parts like axle bearings, gears, etc.

The transfer case is a Borg-Warner 13-56, it should look like it has a bunch of ribs or vanes on the outside of the case. THere is a manual-shift version, as well as a pushbutton or electric-shift version of this model.